Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 2
Tuesday, November 5, 2013

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met in camera at 8:46 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ray Boughen, Gordon Brown, Hon. Stéphane Dion, Matthew Dubé, Rick Dykstra, Jim Hillyer, François Lapointe, Irene Mathyssen, Pierre Nantel, Blake Richards and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Ed Holder for Chungsen Leung.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Marion Ménard, Analyst; Michael Dewing, Analyst. House of Commons: Caroline Bosc, Procedural Clerk.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee retain, as needed and at the discretion of the Chair, the services of one or more analysts from the Library of Parliament to assist it in its work.


It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be composed of five (5) members, including the Chair, the two Vice-Chairs, the Parliamentary Secretary, and a member of the Conservative Party; that the quorum of the Subcommittee consist of at least three (3) members, including one (1) member of the government and one member of the opposition; that each member of the Subcommittee be permitted to have one assistant attend any meeting of the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure; and that, in addition, each party be permitted to have one staff member of a House Officer attend any meeting.


It was agreed, — That the Chair be authorized to hold meetings to receive evidence and to have that evidence printed when a quorum is not present, provided that at least four (4) members are present, including one (1) member of the opposition and one (1) member of the government; and that, in the case of previously scheduled meetings taking place outside the Parliamentary precinct, the Committee members in attendance shall only be required to wait for 15 minutes following the designated start of the meeting before they may proceed to hear witnesses and receive evidence, as long as a member of the government and the opposition are present.


It was agreed, — That the witnesses from any one organization shall be allowed ten (10) minutes to make their opening statement; when there are three (3) or more witnesses, each organisation shall be allowed eight (8) minutes to make their opening statement. During the questioning of witnesses, there shall be seven (7) minutes allocated for the first round of questioning and thereafter five (5) minutes shall be allocated to each questioner in the second and subsequent rounds of questioning. The order of questions for the first round of questioning shall be as follows: Conservative, NDP, Liberal, Conservative. Questioning during the second round and all subsequent rounds shall be as follows: Opposition, Government, Opposition, Government.


It was agreed, — That only the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to distribute documents to members of the Committee and only when the documents are available in both official languages and that witnesses be advised accordingly.


It was agreed, — That the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to make the necessary arrangements to provide working meals for the Committee and its subcommittees.


It was agreed, — That, if requested, reasonable travel, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnesses, not exceeding two (2) representatives per organization; and that, in exceptional circumstances, payment for more representatives be made at the discretion of the Chair.


It was agreed, — That, unless otherwise ordered, each committee member be allowed to have one staff member present from their office and from their party at in camera meetings.


It was agreed, — That one copy of the transcript of each in camera meeting be kept in the Committee Clerk’s office for consultation by members of the Committee or by their staff.


It was agreed, — That forty-eight (48) hours’ notice be required for any substantive motion to be considered by the Committee unless the substantive motion relates directly to business then under consideration; that the notice of motion be filed and distributed to members by the Clerk in both official languages; and that completed motions that are received by 4:00 p.m. be distributed to members the same day.


It was agreed, — That, in relation to Orders of Reference from the House respecting Bills,

a) the Clerk of the Committee shall, upon the Committee receiving such an Order of Reference, write to each Member who is not a member of a caucus represented on the Committee to invite those Members to file, in a letter to the Chair of the Committee, in both official languages, any amendments to the Bill, which is the subject of the said Order, which they would suggest that the Committee consider;

b) suggested amendments filed, pursuant to paragraph (a), at least 48 hours prior to the start of clause-by-clause consideration of the Bill to which the amendments relate shall be deemed to be proposed during the said consideration, provided that the Committee may, by motion, vary this deadline in respect of a given Bill; and

c) during the clause-by-clause consideration of a Bill, the Chair shall allow a Member who filed suggested amendments, pursuant to paragraph (a), an opportunity to make brief representations in support of them.


It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure meet on Thursday, November 7, 2013.


At 9:34 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Emma-Leigh Boucher
Clerk of the Committee

2013/11/06 2:33 p.m.