Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 13
Monday, February 1, 2021, 11:04 a.m. to 1:12 p.m.
Scott Simms, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
Alberta Newspaper Group
• Ryan McAdams, Group Publisher
As an individual
• John Petrie, Retired Broadcaster
Association québécoise de la production médiatique
• Hélène Messier, President and Chief Executive Officer
Fédération culturelle canadienne-française
• Martin Théberge, President
• Marie-Christine Morin, Executive Director
Global Village Centre
• Ahmed Kassem, Executive Director
Quebec English-language Production Council
• Darius Bossé, Lawyer, Power Law
• Kenneth Hirsch, Co-Chair
• Eva Ludvig, Member of the Board of Directors, Quebec Community Groups Network
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, December 7, 2020, the committee commenced consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-10, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Hélène Messier, Martin Théberge and Eva Ludvig made statements and, with Marie-Christine Morin, Darius Bossé and Kenneth Hirsch, answered questions.

At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 12:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:20 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Ryan McAdams, John Petrie and Ahmed Kassem made statements and answered questions.

At 1:12 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the Committee