Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 154
Tuesday, May 8, 2018, 6:32 p.m. to 9:59 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
Bank of Canada
• Nikil Chande, Director, Financial Stability
• Grahame Johnson, Managing Director, Funds Management and Banking Department
• Richard Wall, Managing Director, Currency
Canada Revenue Agency
• Danielle Héroux , Director, Canada Pension Plan and Employment Insurance Rulings Division
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
• Christian Sylvain, Director General, Corporate and Government Affairs
Communications Security Establishment
• Don Parker, Director, Strategic Policy
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Andrew Brown, Acting Director General, Employment Insurance Policy, Skills and Employment Branch
• Marianna Giordano, Director, Canada Pension Plan Policy and Legislation, Income Security and Social Development Branch
• Julie Lalonde-Goldenberg, Director General, Partnerships Development and Management Directorate
• Cara Scales, Director, Policy Analysis and Initiatives, Employment and Insurance Policy
• Pirthipal Singh, Director, Tier 1 Partnerships and Services Offerings for Federal Partners, Partnerships Development and Management Directorate
Department of Finance
• Yuki Bourdeau, Senior Advisor, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Julien Brazeau, Senior Director, Framework Policy, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Justin Brown, Director, Financial Stability, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Galen Countryman, Director General, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch
• Manuel Dussault, Senior Director, Framework Policy, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Michèle Govier, Senior Director, Trade Rules, International Trade and Finance Branch
• Marie-Josée Lambert, Director, Crown Corporations and Currency, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Robert Sample, Acting Director General, Capital Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Saskia Tolsma, Senior Economist, Sectoral Policy Analysis, Economic Development and Corporate Finance
• Nicolas Marion, Director, Reserves Management, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Léticia Villeneuve, Economist, Trade Rules, International Trade and Finance Branch
• Jeremy Well, Senior Project Leader, Financial Sector Policy Branch
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
• Patrick Barthold, Director, Northern Governance and Partnerships Directorate, Northern Governance Branch
• Annie Moulin, Acting Director, Arctic Science Policy Integration
• Daniel Pagowski, Legal Counsel, Legal Services
Department of Justice
• Anna Dekker, Counsel, Judicial Affairs, Courts and Tribunal Policy, Public Law Sector
• Catherine McKinnon, Senior Counsel, Judicial Affairs, Courts and Tribunal Policy
• Ann Sheppard, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section
Department of Western Economic Diversification
• David Dewar, Director, Strategic Policy and Government Affairs, Policy and Strategic Direction
Privy Council Office
• Selena Beattie, Director of Operations, Cabinet Affairs, Legislation and House Planning
• Anne Burgess, Legal Counsel
Treasury Board Secretariat
• Jeannine Ritchot, Executive Director, Regulatory Cooperation, Regulatory Affairs Secretariat
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 23, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-74, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018, and other measures.

Nick Marion, Grahame Johnson, Marie-Josée Lambert, Richard Wall, Justin Brown, Léticia Villeneuve, Annie Moulin, Patrick Barthold, Christian Sylvain, Jeannine Ritchot, Donald Parker, Julie Lalonde-Goldenberg, Andrew Brown, Catherine McKinnon, Anna Dekker, Manuel Dussault, Julien Brazeau, David Dewar, Selena Beattie, Marianne Giordano and Ann Shepard made statements and, with Michèle Govier, Cara Scales, Jeremy Weil and Saskia Tolsma, answered questions.

At 9:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee