Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 152
Tuesday, May 8, 2018, 11:02 a.m. to 1:32 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
Department of Finance
• Yuki Bourdeau, Senior Advisor, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Justin Brown, Director, Financial Stability, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Gervais Coulombe, Director, Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Galen Countryman, Director General, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch
• Marie-Josée Lambert, Director, Crown Corporations and Currency, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Pierre Mercille, Director General (Legislation), Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Robert Sample, Acting Director General, Capital Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• David Turner, Tax Policy Analyst, Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
Department of the Environment
• Philippe Giguère, Manager, Legislative Policy
• John Moffet, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch
Department of Health
• Gigi Mandy, Executive Director, Strategic Policy Branch, Canada Health Act Division
Treasury Board Secretariat
• Sonya Read, Senior Director, Digital Policy
Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation
• John Rossi, Policy and Research Advisor
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 23, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-74, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018, and other measures.

John Moffet, Gervais Coulombe, Pierre Mercille and Philippe Giguère answered questions.

It was agreed, — That the meeting be extended until 1:30 p.m.

Sonya Read, Marie-Josée Lambert, Justin Brown and Galen Countryman made statements and, with Yuki Bourdeau and Gigi Mandy, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a meeting be held tonight, Tuesday, May 8, 2018, from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

At 1:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee