Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 10:59 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Bev Shipley, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Earl Dreeshen, Hon. Mark Eyking, Randy Hoback, Pierre Lemieux, LaVar Payne, Francine Raynault, Bev Shipley and Bob Zimmer.


Acting Members present: Jean Rousseau for Denis Blanchette.


Associate Members present: Hon. Laurie Hawn.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Analyst; Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst. House of Commons: Jean-Marie David, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Seed Trade Association: Patty Townsend, Chief Executive Officer. Canterra Seeds: Erin Armstrong, Director, Research and Product Development. C&M Seeds: Archie Wilson, General Manager. Canadian Pork Council: Rick Bergmann, Vice-Chair. Grain Farmers of Ontario: Mark Huston, Vice-Chair. Organic Council of Ontario: Jennifer Pfenning, Chair. The New Farm: Brent Preston, Proprietor. Canadian Nursery Landscape Association: Victor Santacruz, Executive Director. Grain Growers of Canada: Gary Stanford, President. Western Canadian Wheat Growers : Levi Wood, President.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 17, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-18, An Act to amend certain Acts relating to agriculture and agri-food.

Brent Preston, by videoconference from Barrie, Ontario, Mark Huston, by videoconference from Guelph, Ontario, Gary Stanford, by videoconference from Lethbridge, Alberta, Levi Wood, by videoconference from Regina, Saskatchewan and Patty Townsend, Erin Armstrong and Archie Wilson made statements and answered questions.


At 12:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Victor Santacruz, by videoconference from Mississauga, Ontario, Jennifer Pfenning, by videoconference from Waterloo, Ontario and Rick Bergmann, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba made statements and answered questions.


At 1:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean Michel Roy
Clerk of the Committee

2014/10/29 2:06 p.m.