Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 52
Wednesday, October 17, 2012

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Candice Bergen, Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Russ Hiebert, Ryan Leef, Rick Norlock, LaVar Payne, Jean Rousseau, Francis Scarpaleggia and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Mylène Freeman for Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Jasbir Sandhu for John Rafferty and Craig Scott for Randall Garrison.


In attendance: Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst.


Witnesses: Royal Canadian Mounted Police External Review Committee: Catherine Ebbs, Chair. Commission for Public Complaints Against the Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Richard Evans, Senior Director, Operations; Lesley McCoy, Legal Counsel, Executive Director's Office; Ian McPhail, Interim Chair. Royal Canadian Mounted Police External Review Committee: David Paradiso, Executive Director and Senior Counsel.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, September 19, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-42, An Act to amend the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Ian McPhail made a statement and, with Richard Evans and Lesley McCoy, answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Catherine Ebbs made a statement and, with David Paradiso, answered questions.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/18 11:53 a.m.