Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 29
Wednesday, June 1, 2022, 5:29 p.m. to 7:33 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Dan Albas for John Nater (Conservative)
• Rob Morrison for John Nater (Conservative)
• Clifford Small for Hon. Tim Uppal (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
• Nancy Vohl, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
As an individual
• J.J. McCullough
Association québécoise de la production médiatique
• Hélène Messier, President and Chief Executive Officer
BCE Inc.
• Jonathan Daniels, Vice-President, Regulatory Law
• Karine Moses, Vice-Chair Québec and Senior Vice-President, Content Development & News
Black Screen Office
• Joan Jenkinson, Executive Director
Canadian Media Producers Association
• Reynolds Mastin, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Catherine Winder, Chief Executive Officer, Wind Sun Sky Entertainment Inc.
• Marla Boltman, Executive Director
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
• John Lawford, Executive Director and General Counsel
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, May 12, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 7:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.


Peter Julian moved, — That, in relation to Bill C-11, the deadline for amendments be 4:00 p.m. on Friday, June 3, 2022, and that the committee accept additional amendments after this date by unanimous consent.

After debate, by unanimous consent, the motion was withdrawn.


Peter Julian moved, — That, in relation to the consideration of Bill C-11, the deadline for amendments be Friday, June 3, 2022, at 4:00 p.m. ET.

Debate arose thereon.

On motion of Martin Champoux, it was agreed, — That the committee do now adjourn.

At 7:33 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the committee