Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 28
Tuesday, May 31, 2022, 7:12 p.m. to 9:17 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
As an individual
• Sara Bannerman, Canada Research Chair in Communication Policy and Governance and Associate Professor, McMaster University
• Gordon Sinclair
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Ian Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer
• Scott Hutton, Chief of Consumer, Research and Communications
• Sheehan Carter, Director General, Strategic Policy
• Rachelle Frenette, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director
International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees
• John Morgan Lewis, International Vice-President and Director of Canadian Affairs
Motion Picture Association-Canada
• Wendy Noss, President
• Stéphane Cardin, Director, Public Policy
Quebecor Media Inc.
• Pierre Karl Péladeau, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Peggy Tabet, Vice-President, Regulatory and Environmental Affairs
• Jeanette Patell, Head of Canada Government Affairs and Public Policy
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, May 12, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Ian Scott made a statement and, with Rachelle Frenette, answered questions.

At 8:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Sara Bannerman, Gordon Sinclair, John Morgan Lewis, Wendy Noss, Stéphane Cardin, and Pierre Karl Péladeau made statements and answered questions.

At 9:17 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the committee