Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 68
Tuesday, September 12, 2017, 9:38 a.m. to 6:58 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Steven Blaney for Luc Berthold (Conservative)
• Guy Lauzon for Luc Berthold (Conservative)
• Bob Saroya for Luc Berthold (Conservative)
• Martin Shields for Alain Rayes (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Andrew Lauzon, Procedural Clerk
• Kenza Gamassi, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Zackery Shaver, Analyst
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
• Nicole Sweeney, Analyst
Canadian National Railway Company
• Sean Finn, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Services
• Janet Drysdale, Vice-President, Corporate Development
• Michael Farkouh, Vice-President, Eastern Region
Canadian Pacific Railway
• Jeff Ellis, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary
• James Clements, Vice-President, Strategic Planning and Transportation Services
• Keith Shearer, General Manager, Regulatory and Operating Practices
Railway Association of Canada
• Michael Bourque, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Oilseed Processors Association
• Chris Vervaet, Executive Director
Western Grain Elevator Association
• Wade Sobkowich, Executive Director
Canadian Federation of Agriculture
• Norm Hall, Vice-President
Western Canadian Shippers' Coalition
• David Montpetit, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Lucia Stuhldreier, Senior Legal Advisor
Western Canadian Short Line Railway Association
• Perry Pellerin, President
Alberta Wheat Commission
• Kevin Auch, Chair
Institut en Culture Sécurité Industrielle Mégantic
• Béland Audet, President
Teck Resources Limited
• Brad Johnston, General Manager, Logistics and Planning
• Alexa Young, Head of Federal Government Affairs, North America
Freight Management Association of Canada
• Robert Ballantyne, President
• Forrest Hume, Legal Advisor, and Partner, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP
Pulse Canada
• Greg Northey, Director, Industry Relations
Teamsters Canada Rail Conference
• Roland Hackl, Vice-President
Teamsters Canada
• Phil Benson, Lobbyist
Fertilizer Canada
• Clyde Graham, Senior Vice-President
• Ian S. MacKay, Legal Counsel
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, June 19, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-49, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and other Acts respecting transportation and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Michael Bourque, Jeff Ellis, James Clements, Sean Finn and Janet Drysdale made statements and, with Michael Farkouh and Keith Shearer, answered questions.

At 10:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:14 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Wade Sobkowich, Chris Vervaet and Norm Hall made statements and answered questions.

At 12:46 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:44 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Montpetit, Lucia Stuhldreier, Perry Pellerin and Kevin Auch made statements and answered questions.

At 3:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Béland Audet, Brad Johnston, Robert Ballantyne and Forrest Hume made statements and answered questions.

At 4:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Greg Northey, Roland Hackl and Clyde Graham made statements and, with Phil Benson and Ian S. MacKay, answered questions.

At 6:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee