Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 67
Monday, September 11, 2017, 12:04 p.m. to 7:21 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

• John Brassard for Alain Rayes (Conservative)
• Hon. Erin O'Toole for Alain Rayes (Conservative)
• Martin Shields for Luc Berthold (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Zackery Shaver, Analyst
• Nicole Sweeney, Analyst
Department of Transport
• Helena Borges, Associate Deputy Minister
• Alain Langlois, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director
• Brigitte Diogo, Director General, Rail Safety
• Marcia Jones, Director, Rail Policy Analysis and Legislative Initiatives
• Sara Wiebe, Director General, Air Policy
Department of Industry
• Mark Schaan, Director General, Marketplace Framework Policy Branch, Strategy and Innovation Policy Sector
Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board
• Kathleen Fox, Chair
• Jean L. Laporte, Chief Operating Officer
• Kirby Jang, Director, Rail and Pipeline Investigations
• Mark Clitsome, Special Advisor
Canadian Transportation Agency
• Scott Streiner, Chair and Chief Executive Officer
As an individual
• Hon. David Emerson, Former Chair, Canada Transportation Act Review Panel
AGT Food and Ingredients Inc.
• Murad Al-Katib, President and Chief Executive Officer, Former Advisor, Canada Transportation Act Review
Engineers Canada
• Jeanette Southwood, Vice-President, Strategy and Partnerships
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities
• Ray Orb, President
• George Bell, Vice-President, Safety and Security
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, June 19, 2017, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-49, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and other Acts respecting transportation and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

The Chair called Clause 1.

Helena Borges made a statement and, with Brigitte Diogo, Sara Wiebe, Mark Schaan and Marcia Jones, answered questions.

At 1:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:50 p.m., the sitting resumed.

It was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $37,500, for the study of Bill C-49, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and other Acts respecting transportation and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, be adopted.

Kathleen Fox made a statement and, with Kirby Jang, Jean L. Laporte and Mark Clitsome, answered questions.

At 3:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Scott Streiner, the Hon. David Emerson and Murad Al-Katib made statements and answered questions.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jeanette Southwood, Ray Orb and George Bell made statements and answered questions.

At 7:21 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee