Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 7
Monday, April 18, 2016, 3:32 p.m. to 5:31 p.m.
Bryan May, Chair (Liberal)

• Ziad Aboultaif for Mark Warawa (Conservative)
• John Barlow for Gérard Deltell (Conservative)
• Sheri Benson for Niki Ashton (NDP)
Library of Parliament
• Dominique Fleury, Analyst
• Caroline Quesnel, Analyst
House of Commons
• Michael MacPherson, Procedural Clerk
Industrial Contractors Association of Canada
• Tony Fanelli, Vice-President and Manager of Labour Relations
Federally Regulated Employers - Transportation and Communications (FETCO)
• Derrick Hynes, Executive Director
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Daniel Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer
As an individual
• John Logan, Professor, Labour and Employment Relations, San Francisco State University
• Andrew C.L. Sims
• Sara Slinn, Associate Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, March 7, 2016, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code, the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Income Tax Act.

Tony Fanelli, Derrick Hynes and Daniel Kelly made statements and answered questions.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.

John Logan, by videoconference from Berkeley, California, Sara Slinn, by videoconference from West Vancouver, British Columbia and Andrew C.L. Sims made statements and answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Danielle Widmer
Committee Clerk