Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 8
Monday, May 2, 2016, 3:29 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Bryan May, Chair (Liberal)

• Sheri Benson for Niki Ashton (NDP)
• Matt Jeneroux for Mark Warawa (Conservative)
• Kevin Waugh for Mark Warawa (Conservative)
• Rodger Cuzner (Liberal)
• Terry Duguid (Liberal)
• Stéphane Lauzon (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Dominique Fleury, Analyst
• Caroline Quesnel, Analyst
House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Patricia Kosseim, Senior General Counsel and Director General, Legal Services, Policy and Research
• Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada
Canadian Labour Congress
• Pierre Laliberté, Assistant to the President
• Hassan Yussuff, President
Canadian Bar Association
• Michael Mazzuca, Executive Member, National Pensions and Benefits Law Section
Canadian LabourWatch Association
• John Mortimer, President
Canadian Taxpayers Federation
• Aaron Wudrick, Federal Director
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, March 7, 2016, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code, the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Income Tax Act.

Michael Mazzuca, Daniel Therrien and Hassan Yussuf made statements and answered questions.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

John Mortimer and Aaron Wudrick made statements and answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Canada's Building Trades Unions
• Robert Blakely, Canadian Operating Officer
Community Unemployed Help Centre
• Neil Cohen, Executive Director
• Sandra Guevara-Holguin, Advocate
Inter-Provincial EI Working Group
• Hans Marotte
• Laurell Ritchie, Co-chair
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 24, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Impact of Recent Changes to Employment Insurance and of Access to the Program.

Robert Blakely, Neil Cohen, Sandra Guevara-Holguin, Laurell Ritchie and Hans Marotte made statements and answered questions.

At 6:27 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:28 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Dan Ruimy, it was agreed, — That, in relation to Orders of Reference from the House respecting Bills,

(a) the Clerk of the Committee shall, upon the Committee receiving such an Order of Reference, write to each Member who is not a member of a caucus represented on the Committee to invite those Members to file with the Clerk of the Committee, in both official languages, any amendments to the Bill, which is the subject of the said Order, which they would suggest that the Committee consider;

(b) suggested amendments filed, pursuant to paragraph (a), at least 48 hours prior to the start of clause-by-clause consideration of the Bill to which the amendments relate shall be deemed to be proposed during the said consideration, provided that the Committee may, by motion, vary this deadline in respect of a given Bill; and,

(c) during the clause-by-clause consideration of a Bill, the Chair shall allow a Member who filed suggested amendments, pursuant to paragraph (a), an opportunity to make brief representations in support of them.

At 6:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Danielle Widmer
Committee Clerk