Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 35
Monday, October 24, 2022, 11:00 a.m. to 1:01 p.m.
Hon. Marc Garneau, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Athabasca Tribal Council
• Karla Buffalo, Chief Executive Officer
BOLD Realities
• Karen R. Restoule, Founder
First Nations Tax Commission
• Clarence T. (Manny) Jules, Chief Commissioner
Indigenous Women of the Wabanaki Territories
• Brandy Stanovich, President
Mi'kmaw Kina'matnewey
• Jacqueline Prosper, Lead, Treaty Education
Northwest Territory Métis Nation
• Garry Bailey, President
Nova Scotia Office of L’nu Affairs
• Celeste Sulliman, Director, Treaty Education
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, September 29, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-29, An Act to provide for the establishment of a national council for reconciliation.

Karen R. Restoule, Karla Buffalo and Clarence T. (Manny) Jules made statements and answered questions.

At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jacqueline Prosper, Garry Bailey and Brandy Stanovich made statements and, with Celeste Sulliman, answered questions.

It was agreed, — That the deadline to submit to the clerk amendments to Bill C-29, An Act to provide for the establishment of a national council for reconciliation, be modified to Tuesday, November 1, 2022, at noon.

At 1:01 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee