Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 107
Wednesday, April 25, 2018, 4:03 p.m. to 6:11 p.m.
Deborah Schulte, Chair (Liberal)

• Michael Cooper for Joël Godin (Conservative)
• Todd Doherty for Joël Godin (Conservative)
• James Maloney (Liberal)
• Kim Rudd (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
• Sarah Yakobowski, Analyst
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
• Michael M. Binder, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board
• Dave Burley, Director of Environmental Affairs
• Susan Gover, General Counsel
• Scott Tessier, Chair and Chief Executive Officer
National Energy Board
• Peter C. Watson, Chair and Chief Executive Officer
• Robert Steedman, Chief Environment Officer
• Jim Fox, Vice-President, Integrated Energy Information and Analysis
Wolf Lake First Nation
• Chief Harry St-Denis
• Chief Lance Haymond, Kebaowek First Nation
West Moberly First Nations
• Chief Roland Willson
• Bruce Muir, Senior Environmental Planner
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, March 19, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Peter C. Watson, Scott Tessier and Michael M. Binder made statements and, with Dave Burley, Susan Gover, Robert Steedman and Jim Fox, answered questions.

At 4:33 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 4:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:21 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Chief Roland Willson and Chief Harold St-Denis made statements and answered questions.

At 5:47 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Chief Lance Haymond made a statement and, with Chief Harold St-Denis, Chief Roland Willson and Bruce Muir, answered questions.

At 6:11 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee