Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Tuesday, October 7, 2014

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 11:28 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Bev Shipley, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Earl Dreeshen, Hon. Mark Eyking, Randy Hoback, Pierre Lemieux, LaVar Payne, Francine Raynault, Bev Shipley and Bob Zimmer.


Acting Members present: Alex Atamanenko for Denis Blanchette.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst; Frédéric Forge, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Gerry Ritz, P.C., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.


Witnesses: Canadian Food Inspection Agency: William Anderson, Executive Director, Plant Health and Biosecurity Directorate; Veronica McGuire, Executive Director, Program, Regulatory and Trade Policy; Anthony Parker, Commissioner, Plant Breeders Rights Office. Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Rosser Lloyd, Director General, Business Risk Management Programs Directorate, Programs Branch; Martin Crevier, Assistant Director, Financial Guarantee Programs Division, Programs Branch. Department of Justice: Louise Sénéchal, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director, Agriculture and Food Inspection Legal Services; Sara Guild, Acting Manager and Senior Counsel, Agriculture and Food Inspection Legal Services.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 17, 2014, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-18, An Act to amend certain Acts relating to agriculture and agri-food.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:27 p.m., the sitting resumed.


William Anderson, Anthony Parker, Rosser Lloyd and Veronica McGuire answered questions.


At 1:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean Michel Roy
Clerk of the Committee

2014/10/07 2:22 p.m.