Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Thursday, November 17, 2011

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Randall Garrison, Candice Hoeppner, Ryan Leef, Marie-Claude Morin, Rick Norlock, Brent Rathgeber, Jasbir Sandhu, Francis Scarpaleggia, Kevin Sorenson and Wai Young.


Acting Members present: Françoise Boivin for Sylvain Chicoine and Garry Breitkreuz for Brent Rathgeber.


Other Members present: Maria Mourani.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: Government of Quebec: Robert Dutil, Minister of Public Security; Michèle Durocher, Director, Legal Affairs, Ministère de la Sécurité publique; Mathieu St-Pierre, Press Secretary, Ministère de la Sécurité publique. Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Mario Harel, Vice-President, Chief of Police, Gatineau Police Service; Matthew Torigian, Chief of Police, Waterloo Regional Police Service. Fédération québécoise des chasseurs et pêcheurs: Hélène Larente, Volunteer, Coordinator, Women's Hunting Program. Canadian Shooting Sports Association: Diana Cabrera, Administration Manager; Tony Bernardo, Executive Director. Coalition for Gun Control: Wendy Cukier, President; Barbara J. Kane, Psychiatrist. Dawson Student Union: Audrey Deveault, Chairperson; Mathieu Murphy-Perron, Executive Director. As individuals: Randall Kuntz; Donald Weltz.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, November 1, 2011, and the motions adopted Tuesday, September 27, and Tuesday, November 1, 2011, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act.

Robert Dutil, Mario Harel, Matthew Torigian, Hélène Larente, Diana Cabrera and Tony Bernardo made statements and, with Matthieu St-Pierre and Michèle Durocher, answered questions.


At 12:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Wendy Cukier, Barbara Kane, Audrey Deveault, Matthieu Murphy-Perron, Randall Kuntz and Donald Weltz made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Candice Hoeppner, it was agreed, — That, in relation to the study of Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act, the proposed budget in the amount of $69,900 for the period of 2011-2012 be adopted and that the Chair present the said budget to the Subcommittee on Committee Budgets of the Liaison Committee.


At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2011/11/18 8:18 a.m.