Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Thursday, December 3, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 11:21 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, Linda Duncan, David J. McGuinty, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson and Stephen Woodworth.


Associate Members present: Bruce Hyer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Jim Prentice, Minister of the Environment.


Witnesses: Department of the Environment: Ian Shugart, Deputy Minister; Michael Martin, Chief Negotiator, Climate Change Negotiations Office; Basia Ruta, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Finance and Corporate Branch; Cynthia Wright, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Stewardship Branch; Michael Keenan, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch; Mike Beale, Acting Associate Assistant Deputy Minister. Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency: Daniel Nadeau, Director General, Corporate Services. Parks Canada Agency: Céline Gaulin, Chief Administrative Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B) 2009-2010: Votes 1b, 5b, 10b, 15b and 25b under ENVIRONMENT, referred to the Committee on Wednesday, November 4, 2009.

The Chair called Vote 1b.


Hon. Jim Prentice made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:11 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Basia Ruta, Cynthia Wright, Michael Keenan, Mike Beale, Daniel Nadeau and Céline Gaulin answered questions.


The Chair called Vote 1b under ENVIRONMENT.


Vote 1b under ENVIRONMENT carried on division.


The Chair called Vote 5b under ENVIRONMENT.


Vote 5b under ENVIRONMENT carried on division.


The Chair called Vote 10b under ENVIRONMENT.


Vote 10b under ENVIRONMENT carried on division.


The Chair called Vote 15b under ENVIRONMENT.


Vote 15b under ENVIRONMENT carried on division.


The Chair called Vote 25b under ENVIRONMENT.


Vote 25b under ENVIRONMENT carried on division.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report Votes 1b, 5b, 10b, 15b and 25b under ENVIRONMENT to the House.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Francis Scarpaleggia gave notice of the following motion: That the Committee extend their sitting hours either Tuesday, December 8 or Wednesday, December 9, 2009, in order to ensure completion of clause-by-clause on Bill C-311, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change, before the deadline of Thursday, December 10, 2009, for reporting the Bill back to the House.


At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2010/02/04 11:38 a.m.