Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

(Meeting No. 12)


The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:00 o’clock a.m., this day, in Room 269 West Block, the Chair Joe McGuire, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Hélène Alarie, Leon E. Benoit, Paul Bonwick, Rick Borotsik, Gerry Byrne, Murray Calder, Jean-Guy Chrétien, Denis Coderre, John Harvard, Jay Hill, Jake E. Hoeppner, Joe McGuire, Dick Proctor, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Sonya Dakers, Research Coordinator and Jean-Denis Fréchette, Economist.

Witness: From the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Mike Gifford, Director General, International Trade Policy Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced consideration of its future business relating to International Trade.

The witness made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:37 o'clock a.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.

At 11:03 o’clock a.m., the Committee adjourned until Thursday, December 4, 1997 at 9:00 a.m.


Clerk of the Committee