Skip to main content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

(Meeting No.11)


The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:02 o’clock a.m., this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Joe McGuire, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Leon E. Benoit, Murray Calder, Jean-Guy Chrétien, Denis Coderre, John Harvard, Jay Hill, Larry McCormick, Joe McGuire, Dick Proctor and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Member present: Gerald Keddy for Rick Borotsik.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Sonya Dakers, Research Coordinator and Jean-Denis Fréchette, Economist.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Art Olson, President; Ron Doering, Executive Vice-President; André Gravel, Interim Vice-President, Programs.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to its review of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Art Olson made a statement which was elaborated upon by Ron Doering.

The witnesses answered questions.

At 10:50 o’clock a.m., the Committee adjourned until Tuesday, December 2, 1997 at 9:00 a.m.


Clerk of the Committee