Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 113
Wednesday, February 28, 2024, 5:10 p.m. to 5:57 p.m.
Joël Lightbound, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dana Fan, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
BCE Inc.
• Robert Malcolmson, Executive Vice-President, Chief Legal and Regulatory Officer
• Mark Graham, Vice-President, Legal and Regulatory
Rogers Communications Inc.
• Phil Hartling, President, Wireless
Telus Communications Inc.
• Doug French, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, January 29, 2024, the committee resumed its study on accessibility and affordability of wireless and broadband services in Canada.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

On motion of Don Davies, it was agreed, — That, in relation to the study on Accessibility and Affordability of Wireless and Broadband Services in Canada, the committee invite and, if this invitation is not accepted, summons, pursuant to Standing Order 108(1), the following to appear before the committee to answer questions and explain measures that are being taken: Tony Staffieri, President and CEO of Rogers Communications Inc.; Mirko Bibic, President and CEO of BCE Inc.; and Darren Entwistle, President and CEO of Telus Communications Inc.

At 5:41 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.


Don Davies moved, — That the committee do now adjourn.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Don Davies, Iqwinder Gaheer, Viviane Lapointe, Francesco Sorbara, Ryan Turnbull, Tony Van Bynen — 6;

NAYS: Jean-Denis Garon, Bernard Généreux, Rick Perkins, Brad Vis, Ryan Williams — 5.

At 5:57 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Miriam Burke
Clerk of the committee