Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 112
Monday, February 26, 2024, 11:01 a.m. to 12:59 p.m.
Joël Lightbound, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dana Fan, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Scott Hutton, Chief of Consumer, Research and Communications
• Ian Baggley, Director General, Strategic Planning, Broadband Fund and Networks, Telecommunications
• Anthony McIntyre, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director, Legal Services
Competition Bureau Canada
• Jeanne Pratt, Senior Deputy Commissioner, Mergers and Monopolistic Practices Branch
• Laura Sonley, Associate Deputy Commissioner, Mergers Directorate
• Anthony Durocher, Deputy Commissioner, Competition Promotion Branch
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, January 29, 2024, the committee resumed its study on accessibility and affordability of wireless and broadband services in Canada.

Scott Hutton and Jeanne Pratt made statements and all witnesses answered questions.

Brian Masse gave notice of the following motion:

That, in relation to the study on Accessibility and Affordability of Wireless and Broadband Services in Canada, the committee invite and, if this invitation is not accepted, summons, pursuant to Standing Order 108(1), the following to appear before the committee to answer questions and explain measures that are being taken: Tony Staffieri, President and CEO of Rogers Communications Inc.; Mirko Bibic, President and CEO of BCE Inc.; and Darren Entwistle, President and CEO of Telus Communications Inc.

At 12:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:46 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $9,000.00, for the study of Accessibility and Affordability of Wireless and Broadband Services in Canada, be adopted.

At 12:59 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Miriam Burke
Clerk of the committee