Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 41
Friday, December 2, 2022, 1:03 p.m. to 3:01 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Alison Clegg, Analyst
• Robert Mason, Analyst
• Hon. Steven Guilbeault, P.C., M.P., Minister of Environment and Climate Change
Department of Health
• Greg Carreau, Director General, Safe Environments Directorate
Department of the Environment
• John Moffet, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch
• Laura Farquharson, Director General, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Environmental Protection Branch
• Jacqueline Gonçalves, Director General, Science and Risk Assessment, Science and Technology Branch
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, November 3, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill S-5, An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, to make related amendments to the Food and Drugs Act and to repeal the Perfluorooctane Sulfonate Virtual Elimination Act.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 1:48 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:50 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 2:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 3:01 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Longpré
Clerk of the committee