Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 40
Tuesday, November 29, 2022, 3:46 p.m. to 5:51 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Alison Clegg, Analyst
• Robert Mason, Analyst
Animal Justice Canada Legislative Fund
• Kaitlyn Mitchell, Staff Lawyer
Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association
• Shannon Coombs, President
Canadian Paint and Coatings Association
• Gary LeRoux, President and Chief Executive Officer
CropLife Canada
• Ian Affleck, Vice-President, Plant Biotechnology
• Dr. Justine Taylor, Director, Stewardship and Sustainability
Living Oceans Society
• Karen Wristen, Executive Director
Snuneymuxw First Nation
• Joan Brown, Chief Administration Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, November 3, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill S-5, An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, to make related amendments to the Food and Drugs Act and to repeal the Perfluorooctane Sulfonate Virtual Elimination Act.

Kaitlyn Mitchell, Gary LeRoux and Joan Brown made statements and answered questions.

At 4:51 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:53 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Shannon Coombs, Ian Affleck and Karen Wristen made statements and, with Justine Taylor, answered questions.

At 5:51 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Longpré
Clerk of the committee