Skip to main content
Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 26
Monday, May 10, 2021, 11:16 a.m. to 12:39 p.m.
James Maloney, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Mark D'Amore, Procedural Clerk
• Jacques Maziade, Legislative Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Xavier Deschênes-Philion, Analyst
• Sophie Leduc, Analyst
• Hon. Seamus O'Regan, P.C., M.P., Minister of Natural Resources
Department of Natural Resources
• Timothy Gardiner, Senior Director, Offshore Petroleum Management Division
• Glenn Hargrove, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Petroleum Policy and Investment Office
Newfoundland and Labrador Oil and Gas Industries Association
• Charlene Johnson, Chief Executive Officer
Unifor Local 2121
• Dave Mercer, President
Pursuant to the order of reference of Friday, April 30, 2021, the committee commenced consideration of Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Offshore Health and Safety Act.

Charlene Johnson and Dave Mercer made statements and answered questions.

The Minister made a statement and, with Timothy Gardiner, answered questions.

The committee commenced its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.

The Chair called Clause 1.

Clause 1 carried.

After debate, Clause 2 carried.

After debate, Clause 3 carried.

The Title carried.

The Bill was adopted.

ORDERED, — That the Chair report the Bill to the House.

At 12:39 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Hilary Jane Powell
Clerk of the Committee