Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 10
Monday, November 30, 2020, 11:03 a.m. to 1:07 p.m.
Ron McKinnon, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• David Chandonnet, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Dominique Montpetit, Research Assistant
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Victoria Dawson, Medical Doctor
British Columbia Centre on Substance Use
• Nadia Fairbairn, Clinician Scientist
Canadian Medical Association
• Ann Collins, President
Canadian Mental Health Association – Quebec Division
• Karen Hetherington, President
Faces of Advocacy
• Dr. David Edward-Ooi Poon, Medical Doctor and Founder
Mouvement Santé mentale Québec
• Renée Ouimet, Director
Stepped Care Solutions
• Peter Cornish, Psychologist
Women’s Health Research Institute
• Gina Ogilvie, Associate Director
• Lori Brotto, Executive Director
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday,October 26, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the emergency situation facing Canadians in light of the second wave of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Victoria Dawson, Nadia Fairbairn, Ann Collins and Karen Hetherington made statements and answered questions.

At 12:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Edward-Ooi Poon, Renée Ouimet, Peter Cornish, Lori Brotto and Gina Ogilvie made statements and answered questions.

At 1:07 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee