Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 32
Tuesday, July 7, 2020, 11:00 a.m. to 2:22 p.m.
Ron McKinnon, Chair (Liberal)

• Luc Desilets for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
• Helena Jaczek for Sonia Sidhu (Liberal)
• Terry Sheehan for Marcus Powlowski (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Dominique Montpetit, Research Assistant
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
As an individual
• Arjumand Siddiqi, Associate Professor, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto
Canadian Institute for Health Information
• Kathleen Morris, Vice-President, Research and Analysis
• Mélanie Josée Davidson
Communications Security Establishment
• Scott Jones, Head, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
• Colleen Merchant, Director General, National Cyber Security, National and Cyber Security Branch
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Mark Flynn, Director General, Financial Crime and Cybercrime, Federal Policing Criminal Operations
Statistics Canada
• Marc Lachance, Acting Director General, Diversity and Populations
• Jeff Latimer, Director General and Strategic Advisor for Health Data
• Karen Mihorean, Director General, Social Data Insights, Integration and Innovation
Wellsley Institute
• Kwame McKenzie, Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, January 27, 2020, and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, January 29, 2020, the committee resumed a briefing on the Canadian response to the outbreak of the coronavirus.

Arjumand Siddiqi and Kwame McKenzie made statements and answered questions.


Matt Jeneroux moved, — Pursuant to Standing Order 108(1)(a), the committee send for the following documents to be provided by the government by Monday, August 3, 2020 and that the documents be published publicly on the committee’s website by Monday, August 10, 2020:

All documents, briefing notes, memorandums and emails, regarding the emerging evidence that altered the government’s advice on the wearing of masks referenced by Dr. Theresa Tam, Chief Public health Officer, at her appearance before the Standing Committee on Health on Tuesday, May 19, 2020, including all documents, briefing notes, memorandums and emails to/from/between Health Canada, the Public Health Agency of Canada, the Minister of Health’s office, The Privy Council and the Prime Ministers office regarding the management of the National Emergency Strategic Stockpile from 2015-2020, including supply inventory broken down by number and all updates sent to the government and the Government of Canada’s contracts for PPE since January 2020.

Debate arose thereon.


Darren Fisher moved, — That the motion be amended by deleting the words “emails” and that any consequential grammatical changes be made.

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the amendment of Darren Fisher and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Don Davies, Luc Desilets, Darren Fisher, Helena Jaczek, Mike Kelloway, Terry Sheehan, Tony Van Bynen — 7;

NAYS: Tamara Jansen, Matt Jeneroux, Robert Kitchen, Len Webber — 4.

The Committee resumed consideration of the motion, as amended, of Matt Jeneroux.


Darren Fisher moved, — That the motion be amended by deleting the words “The Privy Council and the Prime Ministers office”.

On motion of Don Davies, it was agreed, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question: "The committee consider notices of motions related to the Committee's briefing on the Canadian Response to the Outbreak of the Coronavirus and instructions for a draft report at a future meeting." was put and was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Don Davies, Luc Desilets, Darren Fisher, Helena Jaczek, Tamara Jansen, Matt Jeneroux, Mike Kelloway, Robert Kitchen, Terry Sheehan, Tony Van Bynen, Len Webber — 11;

NAYS: — 0.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 12:54 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kathleen Morris, Scott Jones and Jeff Latimer made statements and, with Marc Lachance, Colleen Merchant and Karen Mihorean, answered questions.

At 2:22 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Committee Clerk