Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 77
Tuesday, October 17, 2017, 8:45 a.m. to 10:38 a.m.
Hon. John McKay, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Tanya Dupuis, Analyst
• Dominique Valiquet, Analyst
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Lara Ives, Acting Director General, Audit and Review
• Rebecca Shepherd, Legal Counsel
Customs and Immigration Union
• Jean-Pierre Fortin, National President
Mohawk Council of Akwesasne
• Abram Benedict, Grand Chief, Mohawk Government
• Dwight Bero Jr., Researcher, Aboriginal Rights and Research Office
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, September 27, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-21, An Act to amend the Customs Act.

Daniel Therrien and Jean-Pierre Fortin made statements and, with Lara Ives and Rebecca Shepherd, answered questions.

At 9:23 a.m., Pierre Paul-Hus took the Chair.

At 9:27 a.m., the Hon. John McKay took the Chair.

At 9:44 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:47 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Abram Benedict made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:37 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

It was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $23,100, for the study of Bill C-21, An Act to amend the Customs Act, be adopted.

At 10:38 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee