Skip to main content Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 146
Tuesday, April 2, 2019, 11:01 a.m. to 1:07 p.m.
Hon. Larry Bagnell, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Andre Barnes, Analyst
• Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, Analyst
Greenspace Alliance of Canada's Capital
• Paul Johanis, Chair
Department of Public Works and Government Services
• Rob Wright, Assistant Deputy Minister, Parliamentary Precinct Branch
• Jennifer Garrett, Director General, Centre Block Program
• Lisa MacDonald, Senior Landscape Architect and Arborist
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(a)(i), the Committee commenced its study of the potential removal of an elm tree on Parliament Hill.

Paul Johanis made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Rob Wright made a statement and, with Jennifer Garrett and Lisa MacDonald, answered questions.


Randall Garrison moved, — That the Committee request a moratorium on the removal of the centenary elm and construction activity that would compromise its health until the end of June to allow for a further evaluation of the health of the tree and of alternative plans that would allow for its long term survival.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Randall Garrison, Stephanie Kusie, John Nater, Scott Reid — 4;

NAYS: David de Burgh Graham, Linda Lapointe, Dan Ruimy, Ruby Sahota, Scott Simms — 5.

At 1:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Lauzon
Clerk of the Committee