Skip to main content Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 27
Wednesday, September 21, 2016, 3:32 p.m. to 5:43 p.m.
Tom Lukiwski, Chair (Conservative)

• Dan Albas for Kelly McCauley (Conservative)
• Bill Blair for Yasmin Ratansi (Liberal)
• Yves Robillard for Raj Grewal (Liberal)
• Karine Trudel for Erin Weir (NDP)
Library of Parliament
• Raphaëlle Deraspe, Analyst
• Emmanuel Préville, Analyst
Canada Post Corporation
• Wayne Cheeseman, Chief Financial Officer
• Deepak Chopra, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Susan Margles, Vice-President, Government Relations and Policy Framework
Association of Postal Officials of Canada
• Guy Dubois, National President
• Michael Ling, First Vice-President
Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association
• Daniel Maheux, National Vice-President
• Brenda McAuley, National President
Canadian Union of Postal Workers
• Mike Palecek, National President
• Jan Simpson, First National Vice-President
Union of Postal Communications Employees
• François Paradis, National President
Public Service Alliance of Canada
• Howie West, Work Re-Organization Officer, National Programs Section
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(c) and the motions adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 5, 2016, and Thursday, June 16, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of Canada Post.

Deepak Chopra made a statement and, with Wayne Cheeseman and Susan Margles, answered questions.

Karine Trudel gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee ask the task force that drafted the report on Canada Post in the digital age to submit to the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates all submissions, reports, briefs, notes, statistics, lists of witnesses and experts, statements, notebooks, photographs, audio recordings and audiovisual materials used to produce the said report.

At 4:24 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Brenda McAuley, François Paradis, Guy Dubois, and Mike Palecek made statements and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 5:43 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Caroline Massicotte
Clerk of the Committee