Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 45
Thursday, February 16, 2017, 8:45 a.m. to 10:46 a.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Norah Kielland, Analyst
First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada
• Cindy Blackstock, Executive Director
Office of the Child and Youth Advocate Alberta
• Del Graff, Child and Youth Advocate
Mamawetan Churchill River Health Region
• Dr. James Irvine, Medical Health Officer
• Denise Legebokoff, Director, Mental Health and Addictions
• David Watts, Executive Director, Integrated Health
Indigenous Health Alliance
• Dr. Alika Lafontaine, Collaborative Team Lead
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on April 12, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of suicide among Indigenous peoples and communities.

Del Graff and Cindy Blackstock made statements and answered questions.

At 9:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:55 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Dr. James Irvine, by videoconference from La Ronge, Saskatchewan, and Dr. Alika Lafontaine, by videoconference from Grande Prairie, Alberta, made statements and, with David Watts, by videoconference from La Ronge, Saskatchewan, answered questions.

At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Grant McLaughlin
Clerk of the Committee