Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 129
Monday, February 4, 2019, 3:30 p.m. to 5:31 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

• Colin Carrie for Todd Doherty (Conservative)
• Larry Miller for Blaine Calkins (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Michael Chalupovitsch, Analyst
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
Sport Fishing Institute of British Columbia
• Owen Bird, Executive Director
• Martin Paish, Director, Business Development
BC Seafood Alliance
• Christina Burridge, Executive Director
• Chris Sporer, Executive Manager, Pacific Halibut Management Association
Grand Hale Marine Products Co., Ltd
• John Nishidate, General Manager
Hub City Fisheries
• Roger Paquette, President
Canadian Fishing Company
• Phil Young, Vice-President, Fisheries and Corporate Affairs
As an individual
• Chief Christopher Charles Cook Jr., Fisher, Nimpkish Tribe, Kwakwaka'wakw Nation
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, June 5, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of the Regulation of the West Coast fisheries.

Phil Young, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Roger Paquette, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, Christina Burridge, John Nishidate, Owen Bird, Martin Paish, and Chief Christopher Charles Cook Jr., made statements and, with Chris Sporer, answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the Committee