Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 15
Thursday, May 19, 2016, 3:30 p.m. to 5:35 p.m.
Hon. Robert D. Nault, Chair (Liberal)

• Julie Dabrusin for Marc Miller (Liberal)
• Garnett Genuis for Hon. Tony Clement (Conservative)
• Joël Lightbound for Marc Miller (Liberal)
• Joël Lightbound for Raj Saini (Liberal)
• Larry Maguire for Hon. Tony Clement (Conservative)
• David Sweet for Dean Allison (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Brian Hermon, Analyst
Oxfam Canada
• Kelly Bowden, Acting Director, Policy and Campaigns
• Christina Polzot, Manager, Program Development, Quality and Knowledge
Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada
• Eva Busza
Canadian Foodgrains Bank
• Jim Cornelius, Executive Director
As individuals
• John McArthur, Senior Fellow, Global Economy and Development Program, Brookings Institution
• Philip Oxhorn, Professor of Political Science, Founding Director of the Institute for the Study of International Development, McGill University
Canadian Council for International Co-operation
• Fraser Reilly-King, Senior Policy Analyst
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Canadian government's countries of focus for bilateral development assistance.

Jim Cornelius, Fraser Reilly-King and Christina Polzot made statements and, with Kelly Bowden, answered questions.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:43 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Philip Oxhorn, Eva Busza, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and John McArthur, by videoconfernce from Washington, D.C., made statements and answered questions.

At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee