Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 116
Monday, November 26, 2018, 3:35 p.m. to 5:26 p.m.
Michael Levitt, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Brian Hermon, Analyst
Parliament of the Republic of Finland
• Paavo Arhinmäki, Member
• Simon Elo, Member
• Maarit Feldt-Ranta, Member
• Ilkka Kanerva, Member
• Tiina Larvala, Committee Counsel
• Tom Packalén, Member
• Pertti Salolainen, Member
• Stefan Wallin, Member
Embassy of the Republic of Finland
• H.E. Vesa Lehtonen, Ambassador of the the Republic of Finland to Canada
RAND Corporation
• Stephanie Pezard, Senior Political Scientist
• Abbie Tingstad, Senior Physical Scientist
As an individual
• David Barber, Professor and Canada Research Chair, University of Manitoba
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, May 8, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of Canada’s sovereignty in the Arctic.

David Barber, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, made a statement and answered questions.

Abbie Tingstad and Stephanie Pezard made statements and answered questions.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pertti Salolainen made a statement and, with Tom Packalén, Paavo Arhinmäki, Simon Elo, Stefan Wallin, Maarit Feldt-Ranta and Ilkka Kanerva, answered questions.

At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Clerk of the Committee