Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 127
Thursday, November 1, 2018, 11:28 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Hon. Mark Eyking, Chair (Liberal)


Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Simon Richards, Analyst
St. Thomas and District Chamber of Commerce
• Robert Hammersley, President and Chief Executive Officer
Cedomatec Inc.
• Justin Juneau, Director of Operations
United Steelworkers
• Ken Neumann, National Director for Canada, National Office
• Shaker Jamal, Research Representative, National Office
Iafrate Machine Works Ltd.
• Gary Stepien, Finance Manager
Mailhot Industries
• Stephen Vezina, Vice-President, Sales and Marketing
Armo Tool Limited
• Ben Whitney, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of the impact of tariffs on Canadian businesses, companies and workers.

Gary Stepien, Robert Hammersley, Justin Juneau, by videoconference from Repentigny, Quebec, Ben Whitney, Stephen Vezina, by videoconference from St-Jacques, Quebec, and Ken Neumann made statements and answered questions.

At 12:49 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:52 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the text prepared to promote the Committee’s study of the Government of Canada's support for the international trade of small and medium-sized businesses be adopted.

At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee