Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 6
Tuesday, March 8, 2016, 8:44 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Armine Tchakmakchian, Analyst
House of Commons
• Hugues La Rue, Procedural Clerk
Alliance des radios communautaires du Canada
• François Côté, Secretary General
• Simon Forgues, Development and Communications Officer
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network
• Jean La Rose, Chief Executive Officer
• Joel Fortune, Legal Advisor
Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada
• Sylviane Lanthier, President
• Serge Quinty, Director of Communications
Association de la presse francophone
• Jean-Patrice Meunier, Executive Director and Director of Legal Affairs
• Francis Sonier, President
Canadian Media Guild
• Carmel Smyth, President of the Canadian Media Guild
• Jeanne d'Arc Umurungi, Communications Director
Quebec Community Newspapers Association
• Richard Tardif, Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 16, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the media and local communities.

Sylviane Lanthier, Francis Sonier, François Côté, and Simon Forgues made statements and, with Serge Quinty, answered questions.

At 9:43 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:46 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Richard Tardif, Jean La Rose, Carmel Smyth, and Jeanne d'Arc Umurungi made statements and answered questions.

At 10:34, Larry Maguire took the Chair.

At 10:38, Hedy Fry took the Chair.

It was agreed, — That the Committee meet in camera on Thursday, March 10, 2016 to discuss Committee Business.

At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee