Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 36
Tuesday, November 15, 2016, 11:35 a.m. to 1:31 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Tony Clement for Kevin Waugh (Conservative)
• Alexander Nuttall for Larry Maguire (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
Cogeco Media inc.
• Pierre Martineau, Director General, News and Programming, FM93
Influence Communication
• Jean-François Dumas, President
The Globe and Mail
• Phillip Crawley, Publisher, Chief Executive Officer, Toronto
The Rebel Media
• Brian Lilley, Co-founder, Reporter
• Michael Gruzuk, Director, News, Digital and Special Programming, VICE Canada
Google Canada
• Aaron Brindle, Head, Communications and Public Affairs
• Richard Gingras, Vice-President, News
• Jason Kee, Counsel, Public Policy and Government Relations
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 16, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the media and local communities.

Pierre Martineau, by videoconference from Québec, Quebec, Jean-François Dumas, Phillip Crawley, Brian Lilley and Michael Gruzuk made statements and answered questions.

At 12:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Richard Gingras, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., made a statement and, with Aaron Brindle and Jason Kee, answered questions.

At 1:05 p.m., Pierre Nantel took the Chair.

At 1:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee