Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 145
Monday, February 25, 2019, 10:55 a.m. to 12:55 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

• Cathy McLeod for Hon. Steven Blaney (Conservative)
• Michel Picard for Anju Dhillon (Liberal)
• Bev Shipley for Martin Shields (Conservative)
• Dan Vandal for Randy Boissonnault (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
• Duane Ningaqsiq Smith, Chair and Chief Executive Officer
Witsuwit'en Language and Culture Society
• Ron Mitchell, Hereditary House Chief Hagwilnekhlh (Likhsilyu Clan), Office of the Wet'suwet'en
• Jennifer Wickham, Executive Director
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
• Natan Obed, President
• Tim Argetsinger, Political Advisor
• William David, Legal Advisor
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 20, 2019, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-91, An Act respecting Indigenous languages.

Duane Ningaqsiq Smith, Ron Mitchell and Jennifer Wickham made statements and answered questions.

At 12:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Natan Obed, Tim Argetsinger and William David made statements and answered questions.

At 12:55 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee