Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 143
Wednesday, February 20, 2019, 6:00 p.m. to 8:06 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Assembly of First Nations
• Perry Bellegarde, National Chief
• Roger Jones, Special Advisor to the National Chief, Languages Act
As an individual
• Dwight Newman, Professor of Law and Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Rights, University of Saskatchewan
Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs
• Richard Marceau, Vice-President, External Affairs and General Counsel
• Allyson Grant, Director, Government Relations and Ottawa Public Affairs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-91, An Act respecting Indigenous languages.

Perry Bellegarde made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:05 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 6:27 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:51 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 7:18 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:21 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Dwight Newman, Richard Marceau and Allyson Grant made statements.

Dwight Newman and Richard Marceau answered questions.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the Committee’s routine motion regarding the questioning of witnesses, Hunter Tootoo be given time to question the witnesses.

At 8:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Kenza Gamassi
Committee Clerk