Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 50
Tuesday, November 4, 2014

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 4:03 p.m. this day, in Room 268, The Valour Building, the Chair, Mike Wallace, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Sean Casey, Bob Dechert, Robert Goguen, Ève Péclet, Kyle Seeback, Mike Wallace and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Blaine Calkins for Patrick Brown and Philip Toone for Pierre Jacob.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada: Tracy O'Hearn, Executive Director; Alyssa Flaherty-Spence, Member, Board of Directors. Sheldon Kennedy Child Advocacy Centre: Sheldon Kennedy, Board Member. Fondation Katherine Beaulieu: Lise Lebel, President. Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime: Sue O'Sullivan, Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime. Government of Alberta: Hon. Jonathan Denis, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General, Ministry of Justice and Solicitor General.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, June 20, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-32, An Act to enact the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights and to amend certain Acts.

Hon. Jonathan Denis, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, Tracy O'Hearn, Alyssa Flaherty-Spence, Sheldon Kennedy, Lise Lebel and Sue O'Sullivan made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2014/11/06 8:11 a.m.