Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 86
Thursday, May 9, 2013

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 8:45 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Randall Garrison, Parm Gill, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Ryan Leef, Rick Norlock, LaVar Payne, John Rafferty, Jean Rousseau, Francis Scarpaleggia and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Hon. Ron Cannan for Candice Bergen, Dean Del Mastro for Hon. Laurie Hawn and Élaine Michaud for Rosane Doré Lefebvre.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Christine Morris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness: John Davies, Director General, National Security Policy. Department of Transport: Gerard McDonald, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: C/Supt Larry Tremblay, Director General, Federal Policing Criminal Operations. Canadian Security Intelligence Service: Michel Coulombe, Deputy Director of Operations. VIA Rail Canada Inc.: Marc Tessier, Director, Corporate Security and Regulatory Affairs, Safety, Security and Risk Management; Marc Beaulieu, Regional General Manager, East and Chief of Transporation, Customer Experience; Jacques C. Gagnon, Spokerperson, Corporate Communications.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing on security of rail transport.

Marc Beaulieu, by videoconference from Montréal, Québec, John Davies, C/Supt Tremblay, Michel Coulombe and Gerard McDonald made statements and, with Jacques C. Gagnon and Marc Tessier, from videconference from Montréal, Québec, answered questions.


At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2013/05/09 3:50 p.m.