Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 33
Tuesday, May 13, 2008

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, James Bezan, Ken Boshcoff, Hon. Wayne Easter, Guy Lauzon, Hon. Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand, Paul Steckle, Brian Storseth and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac.


Acting Members present: Jean-Yves Roy for André Bellavance and Mervin C. Tweed for Larry Miller.


Associate Members present: Pat Martin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal. House of Commons: Georges Etoka, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Wheat Board: Ian White, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Grain Commission: Elwin Hermanson, Chief Commissioner; Randy Dennis, Chief Grain Inspector for Canada; Jim Stuart, Director, Industry Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing on the operations of the Canadian Wheat Board.

Ian White made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:06 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceed to a briefing on the Kernel Visual Distinguishability (KVD).

Elwin Hermanson and Ian White made statements and, with Randy Dennis and Jim Stuart, answered questions.


At 10:58 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/13 3:43 p.m.