Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 31

Monday, November 29, 1999

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 11:38 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Acting Chair, Karen Redman, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, Gary Pillitteri, Karen Redman and Paul Szabo.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Odette Madore and Jean Soucy, Researchers; Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Cancer Society: Kenneth Kyle, Director of Public Issues. From the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada: Allan Lefever. From the Council for Health Research in Canada: David Hill, Chair; Pierre Cadieux, Executive Director. From the Coalition for Biomedical and Health Research: Dr. Barry D. McLennan, Chair; Charles Pitts, Executive Director. From the Sidelines Canada: Don Moors, Member of the Board of Directors; Kathryn Maclean, Executive Director. From the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada: Nickie Cassidy, National Social Action Volunteer. From the National Voluntary Organizations: Penelope Marrett, Director, Health Issues.

In accordance with its mandate under Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumes its Pre-Budget Consultations.

Kenneth Kyle, Allan Lefever, David Hill, Barry McLennan, Don Moors, Kathryn Maclean, Nickie Cassidy and Penelope Marrett made statements and, with the other participants in the roundtable, answered questions.

At 1:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg


Clerk of the Committee