Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 100
Tuesday, February 13, 2024, 11:36 a.m. to 1:33 p.m.
Peter Schiefke, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Geneviève Gosselin, Analyst
• Alexandre Lafrenière, Analyst
As an individual
• Pierre Barrieau, Lecturer, Faculty of Environmental Design, School of Urban Planning and Landscape Architecture, Université de Montréal
Chambre de commerce et d'industrie de Québec
• Steeve Lavoie, President and Chief Executive Officer
civity Management Consultants GmbH & Co. KG
• Friedemann Brockmeyer, Director
International Transport Workers' Federation
• Bruno Dobrusin, Manager, Urban Transport Department
• Joel Kennedy, National Rail Director, Unifor
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, March 7, 2023, the committee resumed its study of projects of high frequency rail between Quebec City and Toronto, between Calgary and Banff, and between Calgary and Edmonton.

Steeve Lavoie and Friedemann Brockmeyer made statements and answered questions.

At 12:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pierre Barrieau and Bruno Dobrusin made statements and, with Joel Kennedy, answered questions.


Taylor Bachrach moved, — That the committee report to the House, urging the government to commit in the 2024 budget to the replacement of VIA Rail’s long-distance fleet following an expedited timeline that allows for uninterrupted service.


Dan Muys moved, — That the committee do now adjourn.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Vance Badawey, Angelo Iacono, Annie Koutrakis, Chris Lewis, Leslyn Lewis, Joyce Murray, Dan Muys, Churence Rogers — 8;

NAYS: Taylor Bachrach, Xavier Barsalou-Duval — 2.

At 1:33 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Carine Grand-Jean
Clerk of the committee