Skip to main content
Start of content

LANG Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 98
Monday, May 6, 2024, 3:30 p.m. to 5:37 p.m.
René Arseneault, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lucie Lecomte, Analyst
Regroupement pour le cégep français
• Nicolas Bourdon, Cégep professor
As an individual
• Stéphanie Chouinard, Professor, Royal Military College, Queen's University
• Frédéric Lacroix, Independent Researcher
Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick
• Pierre Zundel, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(f) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, September 20, 2023, the committee resumed its study of federal funding for minority-language post-secondary institutions.

Stéphanie Chouinard and Pierre Zundel made statements and answered questions.


Joël Godin moved, — That, given the recent allegations that Minister Randy Boissonnault tried to hide that he was getting payments from his lobbying firm while it was lobbying his own government, and he is currently the Minister responsible for Official Languages, who reports to this committee, the committee invites the Minister to appear for no less than two hours.

Debate arose thereon.


The Chair ruled the motion inadmissible as it exceeded the mandate of the committee.

Whereupon, Joël Godin appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was sustained on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Niki Ashton, Mario Beaulieu, Francis Drouin, Angelo Iacono, Annie Koutrakis, Darrell Samson, Marc G. Serré — 7;

NAYS: Michelle Rempel Garner, Bernard Généreux, Joël Godin, Stephanie Kusie — 4.

At 4:07 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:54 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Frédéric Lacroix and Nicolas Bourdon made statements and answered questions.

At 5:37 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Audrée Dallaire
Clerk of the committee