Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 90
Tuesday, December 12, 2023, 10:01 a.m. to 10:13 a.m.
John Aldag, Chair (Liberal)

• René Arseneault for Jaime Battiste (Liberal)
• Shelby Kramp-Neuman for Bob Zimmer (Conservative)
• Wayne Long for Marcus Powlowski (Liberal)
• Yves Perron for Marilène Gill (Bloc Québécois)
House of Commons
• Dancella Boyi, Legislative Clerk
• Christine Holke, Procedural Clerk
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Brittany Collier, Analyst
Department of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
• Martin Reiher, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Treaties and Aboriginal Government
• Michael Schintz, Federal Negotiations Manager, Negotiations - Central, Treaties and Aboriginal Government
• Blake McLaughlin, Director General, Negotiations - Central, Treaties and Aboriginal Government
Department of Justice
• Julia Redmond, Legal Counsel
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, June 21, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-53, An Act respecting the recognition of certain Métis governments in Alberta, Ontario and Saskatchewan, to give effect to treaties with those governments and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

The witnesses answered questions.

The committee resumed its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.

The committee resumed clause-by-clause consideration on Clause 8 of the Bill.

The debate continued.


Jamie Schmale moved, — That the committee adjourn until 3:30 p.m. on Tuesday, December 12, 2023.

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 5.

At 10:13 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee