Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 85
Tuesday, November 28, 2023, 3:36 p.m. to 5:40 p.m.
John Aldag, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brittany Collier, Analyst
Assembly of First Nations
• Joanna Bernard, Interim National Chief
• Julie McGregor, Senior Legal Counsel
Cadotte Lake Métis Nation
• Wendy Goulet, Treasurer
• Jason Harman
Kebaowek First Nation
• Justin Roy, Councilor
Métis Nation of Alberta Association Local 2003
• Adam Browning, President
Metis Settlements General Council
• Dave Lamouche, President
• Brenda Blyan, Vice-President
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, June 21, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-53, An Act respecting the recognition of certain Métis governments in Alberta, Ontario and Saskatchewan, to give effect to treaties with those governments and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Wendy Goulet, Dave Lamouche and Justin Roy made statements and, with Brenda Blyan, answered questions.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:49 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Adam Browning and Joanna Bernard made statements and, with Julie McGregor, answered questions.

At 5:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee