Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 80
Tuesday, October 31, 2023, 4:04 p.m. to 5:56 p.m.
John Aldag, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brittany Collier, Analyst
• Allison Lowenger, Analyst
As an individual
• Hayden Stenlund, Student
• Theresa Stenlund
Confederacy of Treaty Six First Nations
• Greg Desjarlais
Matawa First Nations
• David Paul Achneepineskum, Chief Executive Officer
Métis Nation of Ontario
• Jordyn Playne, President, Youth Council
Women of the Métis Nation - Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak
• Melanie Omeniho, President
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, June 21, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-53, An Act respecting the recognition of certain Métis governments in Alberta, Ontario and Saskatchewan, to give effect to treaties with those governments and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Hayden Stenlund, Melanie Omeniho and Jordyn Playne made statements and, with Theresa Stenlund, answered questions.

At 4:48 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:53 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Paul Achneepineskum and Greg Desjarlais made statements and answered questions.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the committee accept briefs of not more than 10 pages.

At 5:56 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee