Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 77
Thursday, October 19, 2023, 3:31 p.m. to 5:14 p.m.
John Aldag, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brittany Collier, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Mi’kmaq Grand Council
• Stephen Augustine
Membertou First Nation
• Graham Marshall, Membertou Councillor
Semiahmoo First Nation
• Adam Munnings, Legal Counsel
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, November 21, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the restitution of land to First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities.

Chief Stephen Augustine, Graham Marshall and Adam Munnings made statements.


Arnold Viersen moved, — That the committee recognize that Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, has been deemed unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of Canada, that the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court said that Parliament has “to act within the enduring division of powers framework laid out in the Constitution”, that Bill C-69 has unduly impacted and contributed to the cancellation of the Eagle Spirit pipeline, a multi-billion dollar project that would have greatly contributed to economic reconciliation for over 35 First Nation communities and the Northern Gateway Pipeline Project, a nearly $8 billion dollar project that was supported by 30 of First Nation communities along the proposed route, and that it is the opinion of the committee that Bill C-69 be repealed, and that this motion be reported to the House.

Debate arose thereon.


Lori Idlout moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Jaime Battiste, Sylvie Bérubé, Ben Carr, Francis Drouin, Anna Gainey, Lori Idlout, Michael V. McLeod — 7;

NAYS: Jamie Schmale, Gary Vidal, Arnold Viersen, Bob Zimmer — 4.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:45 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Métis Nation of Ontario, Métis Nation of Saskatchewan and Métis Nation of Alberta be invited to appear on Thursday, October 26, 2023 for two hours, and be given five minutes each to make opening statements pursuant to the Routine Motions.

It was agreed, — That the Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations be invited to appear with his officials on Tuesday, November 28, 2023.

It was agreed, — That Cassidy Caron, President of the Métis National Council, be invited toward the end of the study.

It was agreed, — That the workplan on Bill C-53 be adopted.

It was agreed, — That the study budget for Bill C-53, in the amount of $62,000.00, be adopted.

At 5:14 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee