Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 47
Monday, January 30, 2023, 3:30 p.m. to 5:31 p.m.
Hon. Marc Garneau, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $29,950.00, for the study of Indigenous languages, be adopted.

It was agreed, — That the workplan for the Indigenous languages study be adopted.

As an individual
• Danielle Alphonse, BC Regional Innovation Chair for Aboriginal Early Childhood Development, Vancouver Island University
• Melanie Griffith Brice, Associate Professor and Gabriel Dumont Research Chair in Michif/Métis Education, University of Regina
• Miranda Huron, Director, Indigenous Education and Affairs, Capilano University
Little Salmon Carmacks First Nation
• Ed Schultz, Governance Director
• Mark Nelson, Fiscal and Implementation Representative
Makivik Corporation
• Kitty Gordon, Coordinator, Office of the President
Office of the Languages Commissioner of Nunavut
• Karliin Aariak, Languages Commissioner
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, November 21, 2022, the committee resumed its Indigenous languages study.

Karliin Aariak, Kitty Gordon, Ed Shultz and Mark Nelson made statements and answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Miranda Huron, Danielle Alphonse and Melanie Griffith Brice made statements and answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee