Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 32
Thursday, October 6, 2022, 3:40 p.m. to 5:38 p.m.
In Camera
Hon. Marc Garneau, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Friday, April 29, 2022, the committee resumed its study of Arctic sovereignty, security and emergency preparedness of Indigenous Peoples.

The committee proceeded to give drafting instructions to the analyst for a draft report.

At 3:51 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:01 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

• Hon. Marc Miller, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
Department of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
• Andy Garrow, Director, Planning and Partnerships, Reconciliation Secretariat, Policy and Strategic Direction
• Kate Ledgerwood, Director General, Reconciliation Secretariat, Policy and Strategic Direction
Department of Justice
• Seetal Sunga, Senior Counsel
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, September 29, 2022, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-29, An Act to provide for the establishment of a national council for reconciliation.

The Chair called Clause 1.

Kate Ledgerwood and Andy Garrow answered questions.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:38 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee